The Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) was formed in 1879 and is the governing body for rugby union in Ireland. There are four provincial branches of the IRFU for each province; Leinster, Munster, Connacht and Ulster. Leinster Rugby administrates the game in Dublin and there are 32 rugby union clubs in the county. Since 1995 each province has a professional men’s team that competes in the Pro14 and the European Rugby Champions Cup. Leinster play their home games primarily at the RDS Arena with certain larger games played at Aviva Stadium.

At international level, players are selected from each province to represent the island of Ireland (Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland combined). The Irish senior men’s team competes annually in the Six Nations Championship, which they have won twelve times outright and shared eight times. The Irish senior women’s team competes in the Women’s Six Nations Championship and have won it twice outright.

Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU)

The official website of the Irish Rugby Football Union - covering International, Provincial and Club Rugby. The IRFU has its head office at 10/12 Lansdowne Road and home ground at Aviva Stadium. In addition, the Union also owns Ravenhill in Belfast, Thomond Park in Limerick and a number of grounds in provincial areas that have been rented to clubs.


Leinster Rugby

The official website of Leinster Rugby with news, match reports, player profiles, merchandise, ticket and hospitality information. Leinster play their home games primarily at the RDS Arena, although larger games are played in the Aviva Stadium when the capacity of the RDS is insufficient. Before moving to the RDS in 2005, Leinster's traditional home ground was Donnybrook Stadium, in Dublin 4. The province plays primarily in blue and the team crest features a harp within a rugby ball, the harp being taken from the flag of Leinster.


RBS Six Nations

Official site for the annual international rugby union competition involving six European sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. The Six Nations is the successor to the Home Nations Championship (1883–1909 and 1932–39), played between teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, which was the first international rugby union tournament. With the addition of France, this became the Five Nations Championship (1910–31 and 1947–99), which in turn became the Six Nations Championship with the addition of Italy.


Guinness PRO14

The official website of the Guinness PRO14 including the latest news, match reports, picture galleries, downloads, fixtures, results, league tables, statistics and more. The Guinness PRO14 is an annual rugby union competition involving fourteen professional sides from Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Wales and South Africa. The league is one of the three major professional leagues in Europe (along with the English Premiership and the French Top 14), the most successful teams from which go forward to compete in the European Rugby Champions Cup, the pan-European championship which replaced the Heineken Cup after the 2013–14 season.



The Leinster matchday experience

Never been to the RDS Arena for a Leinster Rugby game before? Here's how it's done.